January 27, 2017 - 8:30am to 5:00pm



We have reached capacity and are closed to new registrations. If you'd like to be added to the wait list, please email office@seaoi.org

Join other women in our industry to learn about the History of Women in the Industry, STEM Programs, Women in Leadership, Working Moms, Owning Your Own Firm, Salary Negotiation, Forensic Engineering, Innovative Projects, and Lots of Networking!

SEAOI's Women in Structural Engineering (WiSE) is pleased to partner with Women in Restoration & Engineering (WiRE) and Chicago Women in Architecture (CWA) to present this one-day Symposium. 


This event would not be possible without the generous support of Pella Crafted Luxury -- thank you!

Sincere thanks to Landmarks Illinois and AIA Chicago for their assistance with this event.




Symposium Agenda

Read the Symposium Program for more information on the presenters.

8:00 am           Registration and Light Breakfast
8:30 am Welcome and Introduction to WiRE, CWA, SEAOI WiSE, and the Symposium
9:15 am The History of Women and Our Built World

Anna M. Lewis (author of Women of Steel and Stone)
9:45 am

Women in Leadership: View from the Top of the Ladder

(Panel Discussion)

Moderated by Christine Freisinger, Associate Principal, Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc.

Contractor: Mary Ann Lukowicz, Project Executive, Power Construction Company

Structural Engineer: Homa Ghaemi, Chief Operating Officer and Board of Directors, Klein and Hoffman

Government: Rebekah Scheinfeld, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Transportation 

10:15 am Break with Networking Breakout Session
10:45 am Forensic Engineering for Historic Properties

(CE Credit Available)

Amy Lamb Woods, Engineer, Simpson Gumpertz & Heger Inc.
11:30 am When Wonder Woman Has Kids

(Panel Discussion)

Moderated by Elisabeth Logman, Preservation Consultant, Henry Frerk Sons

Lisa Di Chiera, Director of Advocacy, Landmarks Illinois

Materials Testing: Natalie Feinberg Lopez, Principal, Built Environment Evolution

Consultant and Preservationist: Beth Johnson, Commercial Broker, Keller Williams Realty
12:00 pm Lunch - Mentoring and STEM: Making a Difference

Amanda Mann, Principal Engineer, Kohler
1:00 pm  Show Me the Money

(Panel Discussion)

Moderated by Natalie Hicks, Architect, Shive-Hattery

Architect/Consultant: Dawn Schuette, Partner, Threshold Acoustics LLC

Recruiter: Kacy Furjanic, Senior Professional Recruiter, Aerotek

Engineer: Carol Post, Principal, Thornton Tomasetti
1:30 pm Innovation Design of Writer's Theatre

(CE Credit Available)

Carrie Warner, Vice President, Halvorson and Partners - A WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff Company

Juliane Wolf, Design Principal, Studio Gang
2:15 pm Break with Open Networking

Book signing with Anna M.Lewis
2:45 pm Entrepreneurship: Advice & Insights from Women Business Owners

(Panel Discussion)

Moderated by Mimi Troy, Owner, Troy Architects

Architect: Rada Doytcheva, Principal, RADA Architects

Contractor: Julie Savitt, President, AMS Earthmovers Inc.

Engineer: Carol Drucker, Principal, Drucker, Zajdal Structural Engineers
3:15 pm Keynote Presentation -

"Only Girl [fill in the blank]. Lonely. Wanted: to meet all the women [architects] in Chicago to form a club"

Carol Ross Barney, Principal, Ross Barney Architects
4:00 pm Closing
4:15 pm Cocktail Hour


A total of 1.5 hours of Continuing Education Credit are available. 



Pella Showroom

222 W. Merchandise Mart Plaza, #100

Chicago, IL



The registration fee is $50 for members of SEAOI, WiRE, or CWA, and $70 for non-members. Breakfast and lunch are included. 





Julie Savitt ( AMS Earthmovers Inc. )
Suzi Reinhold ( Revive Architecture )
Beth Scanlan ( City of Chicago )
Lisa Di Chiera ( Landmarks Illinois )
Natalie Feinberg Lopez ( Built Environment Evolution )
Homa Ghaemi ( Klein and Hoffman )
Beth Johnson ( Keller Williams Realty )
Anna M. Lewis ( Author of Women of Steel and Stone )
Elisabeth Logman ( Henry Frerk Sons )
Amanda Mann ( Kohler )
Carol Ross Barney ( Ross Barney Architects )
Rebekah Scheinfeld ( Chicago Dept. of Transporation )
Carrie Warner ( Halvorson and Partners )
Juliane Wolf ( Studio Gang )
Lauren Garvey ( Klein and Hoffman, Inc. )
Julie Smith ( The Lakota Group )
Liz Ott ( Rush University Medical Center )
Elizabeth Melas ( Rush University Medical Center )
Kim Lis ( WJE )
Korena Burgio ( Arup )
Catherine Varnas ( Legat Architects )
Carolina Cartagena ( CC Consulting Inc. )
Margaret Troia ( W.E. O'Neil Construction Company )
Andrea Hebard ( Colorado Department of Transportation )
Laura Gabel ( Holabird & Root )
kaitlin Hoffman ( Arup )
Jennifer Palumbo ( Holabird & Root )
Gloria Moy ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner )
Christina Harris ( Design Workshop )
Faezeh Ashtiani ( Design Workshop )
Hailey Arterburn ( Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP )
Ashpica Chhabra ( Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP )
Xuemei Li ( Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP )
Liz Mullin ( WJE )
Monika Miller ( Northworks Architects and Planners )
Erika Green ( Walker Restoration Consultants )
Grace Duchaj ( Walker )
Kristen Erickson ( Pepper Construction )
Janette Scott ( Wheeler Kearns Architects )
Iva Andrejevic ( Gensler )
Lidija Scekic ( Garza Karhoff Engineering, LLC )
Mary Ann Lukowicz ( Power Construction Company )
Tabitha Stine ( AISC - American Institute of Steel Construction )
Alicia Blakely ( Morgante Wilson Architects )
Kimberly Dunphy ( TGRWA, LLC )
celeste robbins ( Robbins Architecture )
Adrienne Brown ( AKB Works )
Julie Hacker FAIA ( Cohen & Hacker Architects LLC )
Cassie Kelleher ( Pepper Construction )
Shannan Ghera ( Pepper Construction )
Kellie Ropers ( Pepper Construction )
Mary Rukashaza-Mukome
Chelsea Medek ( Klein and Hoffman )
Elaine Shapiro ( Thornton Tomasetti, Inc. )
Quinne Chessman ( Thornton Tomasetti.com )
Marie Daboub ( Ciorba Group )
Jennifer McDermott ( Perkins Eastman )
Stephanie Davis ( Structures North )
Carol Post ( Thornton Tomasetti, Inc. )
Rada Doytcheva ( RADA Architects )
Carol Drucker ( Drucker Zajdel Structural Engineers, Inc. )
Natalie Hicks, AIA, LEED AP BD+C ( Shive-Hattery )
Kacy Furjanic ( Aeroteck )
Dawn Schuette, FAIA, LEED AP BD+C ( Thresholds Acoustics LLC )
Barbara Silvestri ( Northwestern Medicine )
Christine Strom ( Northwestern Memorial HealthCare )
Noelle Kwak ( BKV Group )
Jen Chaplin ( Bulley & Andrews )
Kim Haig ( kbh architects )
Kremena Dokliev ( Illinois Tech )
Sylvia Billisics ( Sheehan Partners )
Jennifer Deem ( Forefront Structural Engineers, Inc. )
Elizabeth LaCrosse ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. )
Mimi Troy ( Troy Architects LLC )
Stephanie Denny ( Holabird & Root )
Nikki Pall ( Holabird & Root )
Ellen Whitehead ( Morgante Wilson Architects )
Helen Torres ( Thornton Tomasetti, Inc. )
Jeannette Pfeiffer ( DeSimone Consulting Engineers )
Michelle Ryland ( Klein and Hoffman, Inc. )
Jennifer Traut-Todaro ( AISC - American Institute of Steel Construction )
Rachel Jackson ( Thornton Tomasetti, Inc. )
Myriam Migrditchian ( Northworks )
Elizabeth Godbold ( Worn Jerabek Wiltse Architects, PC )
Rachel Oleinick ( Northworks Architects + Planners )
Meaghan O'Meara ( BKV Group )
Elisabeth Stump ( HBK Engineering, LLC )
Rachel Michelin ( Thornton Tomasetti, Inc. )
Bethany Myelle ( Magnusson KIemencic Associates )
Christine Freisinger ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. (Chicago) )
Stephanie Crain ( SEAOI )
Pegah Farshadmanesh ( Illinois Institute of Technology )