March 6, 2020 - 7:00am to 11:00am

Chicago Trade Show and Symposium

The Structural Engineers Association of Illinois is pleased to announce the 28th Annual Chicago Trade Show and Symposium. The event provides a forum for forum for engineers to interact with trade professionals and to learn from informative presentations. The event provides ample time to interact with up to 20 exhibitors.  


University Club of Chicago
76 E. Monroe Street
Chicago, IL


The event provides ample time to interact with up to 20 exhibitors.  Attendees typically represent a diverse cross-section of all aspects of the profession including design, construction management, material suppliers, academia, general contracting, and owners’ representation.  


The Chicago Trade Show and Symposium is a half-day event that includes four to six presentations and breakfast.    The Trade Show and Symposium topics are about the latest technology trends and advancements in the construction industry relevant to an audience of structural engineers.  The event is limited to a single session, so attendees benefit from the information shared in every presentation. 

Continuing education of 2 PDHs/CEs certificates will be granted.


Individuals wishing to present a 20-minute presentation plus 5-minute Q&A are invited to submit an Abstract on any subject related to structural engineering, including construction, materials, inspection, testing/monitoring, and analysis.  The abstract should not exceed 500 words, and authors may submit more than one abstract.  The Symposium registration fee will be waived for the presenting author. Submission deadline: January 17, 2020.
Click here to complete the Abstract Submission Form



  1. Innovation: presentations should highlight new or innovative tools, methods, or services relevant to the structural engineering industry.
  2. Abstracts presented by trade professionals or joint presentations with a trade professional and structural engineer are preferred.
  3. Approach: including the definition of the problem, execution, results, conclusions, and recommendations.
  4. Clarity: the concept and expression should be clear and concise.


The authors will be notified of acceptance by the organizing committee.  Additional details will be provided following acceptance.  SEAOI reserves the right to reproduce information submitted as part of any symposium presentation.


Early Bird: $30 member / $40 non-member (ends February 7, 2020 at 11:59 pm)

Regular: $40 member / $50 non-member    

Students: $10

Group Discount: for companies sending 4+ people, $10 off each registration fee; not available retroactively; must be applied on same order.  Contact for discount code.

The Symposium registration fee is waived for presenting authors.


Limited exhibitor opportunities are available at $775 per space.  Exhibitors will be given the opportunity for a brief introduction of their company (1 to 2 minutes) at the podium.  Exhibitors will receive recognition in the program and one admission.  Program includes over 1.5 hours of Trade show time.


Companies who wish to sponsor the event are encouraged to choose one of the three different levels of corporate sponsorship:
  • Gold: $850—Recognition on SEAOI website and in event program, display of poster at event, recognition for sponsoring breakfast, and an opportunity to distribute promotional items to all attendees.
  • Silver: $500—Recognition in the SEAOI website and in event program and display of poster at event.
  • Bronze: $300—Recognition in the SEAOI website and in event program.
  • Early Attendance Door Prize Sponsor*: prize valued at $150+—Recognition during the start of the event and during prize drawing.  The first 25 in attendance will be eligible for the door prize.

*Only one sponsorship available


Abstracts due:  January 10, 2020

Notice of Acceptance:  January 20, 2020

Early Registration ends: February 7, 2020

Final Presentation due: February 27, 2020

Event Date: March 6, 2020


Matt Wagner, SE (Chair) - Raths, Raths & Johnson
Soliman Khudeira, PhD, SE, PE (Past Chair) - Chicago DOT
Steve Citko, SE, PE - EXP 
Kevin Conroy, SE, PE - Simpson, Gumpertz & Heger
Maen Farhat, PhD, PE - Lochner
Jamal Grainawi, SE, PE - WSP USA
Brian Lammert, SE, PE - Raths, Raths & Johnson
Stephanie Crain (Executive Director) - SEAOI





Chuck Pleuss ( Sitar Construction )
Jamal Grainawi ( WSP )
Brian Campbell ( International Code Council )
Michelle Ryland ( Klein and Hoffman, Inc. )
Marco Loureiro ( Jacobs )
Jeff Diqui ( Illinois Structural Masonry Coalition )
Scott Arnold ( Fyfe Co, LLC )
Mohammad Hassan ( Jacobs Engineering )
T. John Wysockey ( Thatcher Foundations, Inc. )
Jesse Fate ( Hilti )
Mark Sitar ( Sitar Construction )
Don Jabczynski ( S.E. Enhancements, LLC )
Lisa Serafini ( Fabreeka International )
Soliman Khudeira ( CDOT - Engineering )
Michael Cox ( MC & Associates, LLC )
Kenneth Hansen ( Lindapter )
Jim Moody ( GIZA Steel )
Michael Weber ( Euclid Chemical Company )
George Krupa ( Lakeshore Engineering, LLC )
Kevin Hooley ( DSI )
Don Cox ( Bulley & Andrews Concrete Restoration )
Alex Fiebig ( Bulley & Andrews Concrete Restoration )
Todd Lawford ( Bulley & Andrews Concrete Restoration )
Don Redar ( Bulley & Andrews Concrete Restoration )
Nishan Pethiyagoda ( Hilti, Inc. )
Christopher Rockey ( Rockey Structures, LLC )
Matthew Wagner ( Raths Raths and Johnson Inc )